Cat Stevens Is Remaking His Classic 'Tea for the Tillerman'

'Tea for the Tillerman²' comes in honour of the album's 50th anniversary
Cat Stevens Is Remaking His Classic 'Tea for the Tillerman'
Back in 1970, Cat Stevens released his classic album Tea for the Tillerman. And with the record now celebrating its 50th anniversary, the artist now known as Yusuf has re-recorded his record for a newly reimagined release.

The new version is called Tea for the Tillerman², and it will arrive on September 18.

As Yusuf explained, however, this sill not be some note-for-note recreation of the album, with the artist often giving the songs some rather drastic makeovers. For example, rapper Brother Ali appears on "Longer Boats," while "Wild World" apparently sounds like a waltz. Other tracks, meanwhile, promise to offer a variety of newly added sonic touches.

In many ways, it appears that Yusuf/Cat Stevens has taken on a very similar approach to Japanese artist Haruomi Hosono, who celebrated his landmark Hosono House by recreating the album and delivering hugely different versions of the songs.

"This album is very important because it's celebrating so many people," Yusuf told Rolling Stone. "It's their soundtrack and people's memories are so intertwined with the notes of this album and the music of this album. I hope a lot of people will love to grow this new album."

For a taste of Tea for the Tillerman², you can hear the new rendition of "Where Do the Children Play?" below, where you'll also find the tracklist.

Tea for the Tillerman²:

1. Where Do the Children Play?
2. Hard Headed Woman
3. Wild World
4. Sad Lisa
5. Miles from Nowhere
6. But I Might Die Tonight
7. Longer Boats
8. Into White
9. On the Road to Find Out
10. Father and Son
11. Tea for the Tillerman