Rolling Stones Return with First New Album in over a Decade

Rolling Stones Return with First New Album in over a Decade
After teasing the arrival of a bluesy new album for much of the year, the Rolling Stones have finally announced their first studio full-length since 2005. Marked with covers of Howlin' Wolf and more, the band's Blue & Lonesome is due December 2 via Polydor.

The 12-song release is the first album from the Stones since 2005's A Bigger Bang, though Mick and Keef use the space to celebrate a group of iconic blues performers, including Jimmy Reed, Willie Dixon, Eddie Taylor, Little Walter and Howlin' Wolf.

The collection is being teased with a one-minute snippet of the band performing Little Walter's 12-bar-style "Just Your Fool," which you check out down below.

Blue & Lonesome was recorded at British Grove Studios in Chiswick, West London. As previously reported, Eric Clapton managed to hop in on the Stones' sessions, having already been recording some music of his own in the studio next door. He appears on Blue & Lonesome tracks "Everybody Knows About My Good Thing" and "I Can't Quit You Baby."

Guitarist Ron Wood had told BBC earlier in the year that the sessions were pretty loose, but that it "worked out pretty good."

"We didn't spend any time rehearsing them or anything. We just picked a song that suited Mick's harmonica or a guitar riff," he said. "It was like, 'this is what the Stones do, we play blues.'"

Blue & Lonesome:

1. Just Your Fool 
2. Commit A Crime
3. Blue And Lonesome
4. All Of Your Love
5. I Gotta Go
6. Everybody Knows About My Good Thing
7. Ride 'Em On Down
8. Hate To See You Go
9. Hoo Doo Blues
10. Little Rain
11. Just Like I Treat You 
12. I Can't Quit You Baby